A visa is required for entrance to Russia for foreign citizens if there is no other order of entry to the Russian Federation, established by an international treaty.

To receive a tourist visa a foreign citizen needs to address a diplomatic mission or any consular establishment of the Russian Federation personally or through a properly authorized representative and submit the following documents:

  • current passport, valid for six months minimum after visa's expiration date and with at least 2 blank pages which do not need to be consecutive

  • a completed visa questionnaire with one photo;

  • a  'Tourist voucher' and a 'Tourist confirmation'* documents stamped and signed by an authorized person. They can be obtained through your hotel or an approved travel agent, who deals with trips to Russia, and should be valid for the entire duration of your trip;

  • photo 3 × 4 cm;

  • an insurance policy if other is not provided by international treaties of the Russian Federation

  • additional documents may be required by Russian Consular depending on the country of visa issue. 

         * for some countries, namely India, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Bangladesh, Vietnam, Egypt , Iran, Mongolia, Republic of Tunisia,  etc. the original Tourist voucher and Tourist confirmation are requested.

Tourist Visa is issued according to the dates specified in voucher and confirmation and can last for 30 days maximum, with a single or double entry. In any case tourist visa does not allow a foreign visitor to have any kind of employment.

The cost of a consular fee for Russian visa depends on a country of visa issue. The European Union citizens e.g. are charged 35 euro for visa, and in case of an urgent visa receipt (within three days) the fee increases twice.

Upon arrival to the Russian Federation all tourists get a migration card, which has to be returned when leaving Russia. It is very important to keep the migration card till the end of the journey.

All foreign visitors should be registered within 1 workday after arrival by hotel administration.

More details and contacts of the Russian Consular abroad.



Tourists on board of large cruise ships when entering Russian Federation through the following ports: Sochi, Novorossiysk, Vladivostok, Korsakov, Kaliningrad, Vyborg, St.Petersburg have the right to stay in the Russian Federation without a visa for up to 72 hours. They have the right to leave the ship and come back on board only as part of an organized tourist group. Those willing to leave the ship on their own or in a group of less than 5 tourists must have a visa.



Starting from July 1, 2019, nationals of 53* countries may be granted an e-visa to enter the Russian Federation through the border crossing point , located on the territory of the Kaliningrad region. Starting from October 1, 2019, visitors from the same countries may be granted an e-visa to enter the Russian Federation through the border crossing point, located on the territory of Saint Petersburg or the Leningrad region.

An e-visa will be issued to a foreign citizen on the basis of a decision of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation on an application that needs to be filled out on the ministry's website no later than four days prior to arrival. The term of this visa is up to 30 calendar days with a permitted period of stay in the country of no more than eight days. A consular fee for issuing electronic visas will not be charged. No documents are required for obtaining an e-visa.

E-visas can be of the following categories only: ordinary business visa (purpose of journey is business), ordinary tourist visa (purpose of journey is tourism), and ordinary humanitarian visa (purposes of journey are sports, cultural, scientific and technological ties).

*List of countries who may obtain an e-visa:


Electronic visas issued for the visit to Kaliningrad are valid only for entry into the Russian Federation and exit from the Russian Federation only at authorized border crossing points:

  • in Kaliningrad / Khrabrovo Airport;

  • in the seaport «Kaliningrad»: parts of the city in Kaliningrad, Baltiysk and Svetliy;

  • on border crossing: «Bagrationovsk», «Gusev», «Mamonovo (Grzechotki)», «Mamonovo (Gronovo)», «Morskoe», «Pogranichny», «Sovetsk», «Chernyshevskoye»;

  • on the railway network: "Mamonovo", "Sovetsk".


Tourists arriving in Saint Petersburg by any means of transport except trains are able to obtain this visa.

Entry and exit are valid for entering and leaving the Russian Federation by air, vehicle and water transport as well as without using vehicles only through the following checkpoints across the state border of the Russian Federation, located in the territories of St. Petersburg and the Leningrad region:

  • Pulkovo checkpoint;

  • “Vysotsk”, “Big Port of St. Petersburg (Marine Station)” and “Passenger Port of St. Petersburg” sea checkpoints;

  • "Ivangorod", "Torfyanovka", "Lingonberry" and "Svetogorsk" vehicle checkpoints;

  • "Ivangorod" pedestrian checkpoint.

When departing to the Russian Federation, you need to show a notice on the issuance of an e-visa to an employee of the transportation company. When entering the Russian Federation at the border control, a notification must also be presented to the officer of the border service of the Russian Federation.

Foreign citizens arriving in the Russian Federation with electronic visas are obliged to have medical insurance policy valid in the territory of the Russian Federation for the entire stay.